Welcome To Badges-Pins!
You are here: Home / News / The evolution of medals

The evolution of medals

Views: 200     Author: Kunshan Shudan Arts and Crafts Co.Ltd.     Publish Time: 2023-08-04      Origin: Site


facebook sharing button
twitter sharing button
line sharing button
wechat sharing button
linkedin sharing button
pinterest sharing button
whatsapp sharing button
sharethis sharing button

olympic games medals history

The Olympic Games medals and certificates are provided by the organizing committee of each Olympic Games, but they are owned by the International Olympic Committee and are awarded to the winning athletes by the International Olympic Committee. The medals presented at the Olympic Games have evolved. Related product: Ribbon Hanger Triathlon Medal.

Material progress

Only the top two medals in each event were awarded in the first Olympic Games in 1896, with the champion receiving the silver medal and the runner-up receiving the bronze medal. Sharpton, a French artist, designed the medal at the time, which had a diameter of 50 mm. At the same time, the organizing committee followed an ancient tradition by presenting wreaths to the winning athletes. The first-place wreath was made of olive branches, and the second-place wreath was made of bay leaves. In addition, the winners received conference prizes such as trophies and vases. The shooting competition winners are the most affordable. As prizes, they receive short guns and rifles. First place in the third Olympic Games in 1904 earned a gold medal.

The evolution of patterns

The International Olympic Committee decided in May 1907 to create a standard style for the Olympic medal. The medal style was specified two years later as follows: the front side of the medal should be a uniform pattern, and the backside can be designed by the host country that hosted the Olympic Games.

The pattern on the front of the medal was officially unified at the 9th Olympic Games in 1928. It employs an intricately designed pattern by the Florentine artist Cassioli, which depicts a statue of the goddess holding flowers in his left hand and an olive branch in his right hand next to a sports field. The number, location, and year of the Olympic Games are displayed on the sports field. On both sides of the medal, the words "Victory, Friendship, Unity" are written.

Also specified is the medal's size. It is spherical, at least 60 mm in diameter, and 3 mm thick. The first is a silver medal that has had at least 6 grams of pure gold plated onto it and is referred to as a "gold medal." The silver and bronze medals were won by the second and third places. The first- and second-place medals both have silver purity levels above 92.5 cents. Since that time, this design and set of requirements have been used for all prior Olympic medals.

The International Olympic Committee decided to include sports in the medal in 1956.

The size and design of the medal must ultimately be approved by the International Olympic Committee despite the lack of specific rules in this regard. There is no set standard, but the International Olympic Committee stipulates that the medals and certificates of the Winter Olympics should be different from those of the Summer Olympics. The International Olympic Committee must approve the medal's design for each Olympic Games, whether they are held in the summer or the winter.



Our factory Passed Bv safety Test produce many style pins , made high quality pins reasonable price for you all the time.
Copyright © 2023 Kunshan Shudan Arts and Crafts Co.Ltd.All rights reserved.Sitemap.




Address:2159 Beimen Road, Yushan Town, Kunshan City, Suzhou City, Jiangsu Provice, China.

Phone: 0086 159 5018 5946

WhatsApp: +8613776367872

E-mail: amanda@lucky-pins.com